- Dog Warden
Animal Adoption Information
Ohio Revised Code permits the Dog Warden to sell dogs that have not been redeemed by their owners. The fee to adopt a dog from the Dog Warden after the expiration of the exemption period is $59, which includes the cost for a valid dog license.
For further information contact the Preble County Dog Warden.
Other Adoption Resources
- A pet vaccination clinic, sponsored by the Humane Society of Preble County, is hosted annually at the Preble County Fairgrounds, traditionally on the last Saturday in May
- To confirm this year's vaccination clinic date and time, or for further information, contact the Humane Society of Preble County
Enforcement of the State Laws
Pursuant to Ohio State Law, the Preble County Dog Warden is mandated to enforce Sections 955.01-955.27; 955.29-955.38 and 955.50 of the Ohio Revised Code.
Some of the sections most commonly enforced include:
Control of Dog (ORC 955.22)
No owner, keeper and/or harborer of any dog shall fail to keep it either physically confined upon the premises by a leash, tether, adequate fence, or secure enclosure to prevent escape, or under reasonable control of some person.
Dog Licensing (ORC 955.21)
All dogs three months of age or older must be licensed. No dog shall be harbored, kept and/or owned without displaying a current valid dog registration tag from the county where the dog is kept.
Display of License Tag (ORC 955.10)
A valid license tag must be worn by the dog(s) at all times.
Animal Abandonment (ORC 959.01)
No owner or keeper of a dog, cat, or other domestic animal shall abandon such animal.
Animal Cruelty (ORC 959.13)
No person shall torture an animal, deprive one of necessary sustenance, unnecessarily or cruelly beat, needlessly mutilate or confine an animal without providing a sufficient quantity of good wholesome food and water.
No person shall confine an animal without providing access to shelter from wind, rain, snow or excessive sunlight if it can be reasonably expected the animal would otherwise become sick or in some other way suffer.
Dog & Kennel Licensing
Per state law, all dogs three months of age or older must be licensed. No dog shall be harbored, kept and/or owned without displaying a current valid dog registration tag from the county where the dog is kept.
|Type of License||Date of Purchase / Other Conditions||Fee|
|Dog License||Purchased before January 31st or animal is under the age of 4 months||$14|
|Dog License||Purchased after the January 31st deadline||$18 ($14 plus $14 penalty)|
|Kennel License||Purchased before January 31st deadline||$70|
|Kennel License||Purchased after January 31st deadline||$140 ($70 plus $70 penalty)|
- Preble County Auditor
Preble County Courthouse
101 E Main Street, 2nd Floor
Eaton, OH 45320